Wish You Were at College Gameday? Now You Can Be!

How many of you have ever been to an actual ESPN College Gameday broadcast?  Hopefully a lot of you, buy my guess is maybe 10% or 15% of you.  I was lucky enough to go to a couple, most notably the “Bush Push” game where USC beat Notre Dame after Matt Leinart got shoved into the endzone by Reggie.  Anyways, the atmosphere is amazing, and as cool as it looks on TV, it is even better in person.

I’m starting something new this week that I hope catches on, and that I think can have the potential to be something pretty big.  Now, I can’t promise you this new addition to That Fan will help you get a sense of the fun atmosphere of being at a Gameday, but I can give you the excitement of getting your sign broadcasted to fans across the country

Starting this week, I’d like to start a contest for all you fans who want to make a College Gameday sign but can’t make it to a broadcast to get your sign shown.  Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you the “That Fan Fantasy Gameday” contest.  This may last one week, it may last for decades, that all depends on you.  I’m giving you a template for a blank sign below, photoshop/edit it however you please, and make the sign you would make if Gameday was at your school this week!

BlankSign

I haven’t worked out all the details on how this is going to work yet, but I thought the idea was too good to delay.  This is what I’m thinking…I will personally view each and every sign created and pick the best ones to be voted on each week in a poll by the readers.  The winners will get some sort of prize and be entered into the year-end vote for the best sign of the year.  As for prizes, I’m not sure yet, but I’ll think of something soon and get back to you. 

How can you enter your sign?  Two ways: 1) email it to info@thatfan.com.  2) Upload it to Twitter and let me know via @ThatFan.  This is my preferred method because even if I don’t pick your sign to post to the site, other people can still see them by doing a search on Twitter.  Maybe we start a trending topic like #ThatFan (if you aren’t on Twitter or don’t know what a trending topic is, let me know and I’ll give you the scoop).  Yes, you can submit multiple entries and I actually encourage it.  For this week’s contest, please submit all signs by Sunday at 11:59PM.

Again, this contest could fizz out after this week, and I don’t expect a ton of entries this week, but I think it has the potential to grow to be a huge and fun thing for fans to look forward to every week.  Post a comment with your thoughts!

One Response to Wish You Were at College Gameday? Now You Can Be!

  1. […] Lastly, I want to remind everyone that I am starting a contest where those of you who couldn’t make it to Gameday can still show off your signs to fans around the world.  Use the template below and photoshop or edit your message.  Click HERE to learn more details on how to enter the contest! […]

Leave a Reply

